Redeeming Frustration

I’m switching gears today.

And for today at least, the topics of George Washington, his compatriots, and the Revolutionary War will be on hold. The problem is, I had this great ‘stream-of-consciousness’ inspiration for my next (this!) post, it was all-systems go!, I was smokin’! and now I can only remember part of it. I’m not really sure I remember even that much – but I thought, if I start, it will come?! ( like in ‘Field of Dreams’ ?)

I remember that I had been thinking about discussing an aspect of the subject of ‘sin’ that I don’t usually hear preached. (Possibly have never heard preached!) I got my insight, though, straight from Scripture. Hebrews.

While running with this thought, the topic of frustration presented itself. (Not sure if there was actually any connection to the sin idea at the time.) I got to thinking about Moses. Now there is a man who knew about frustration. Leading – what, was it well over a million? 2 million ?- Hebrews through the desert, them all the while crying and complaining, not happy with their diet, wantin’ to turn around and go back – sheesh! And then, to top it all off, he turns his back for a few (OK, maybe not a few…more like 40) days and they practically have an orgy while he’s away (Exodus 32), meeting with God on the mountain top. Can you imagine being in the presence of the Shekinah glory (link) and then coming back to THAT??? You have got to give that man his props. I cannot imagine what kind of fortitude, what strength of character, what depth of perseverance Moses must have had.

And not only did Moses return to the children of Israel romping around a golden statue of a calf while they worshipped it (because we all know a li’l ole animal statue is so far superior to the Almighty God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob!), but his own brother Aaron gave the assist in the whole perverted fiasco. What was up with that? Then, after Scripture (Ex. 32:4) clearly tells us that Aaron himself ‘fashioned’ and ‘made…’ the calf, he tells Moses that somehow the calf just appeared on its own. Seriously. Read verse 24. (KJV) Talk about passing the buck. I’m thinkin’ Moses wasn’t fooled. For sure the Lord wasn’t.

I’ve learned from my own experiences in life that often frustration precedes a victory, a gift or a wonderful blessing. It may even be a pre-requisite to receiving those good things, in the sense that it prepares you. The Apostle Paul (our great champion of the grace of God in Christ) wrote something along those lines that intrigued me. He talks about the almost multitude of sufferings and difficulties, even dangers, in his life in 2nd. Corinthians 11, starting around verse 23. I would say these events might fall into the frustration-producing category…the man couldn’t get a break! But then, right at the outset of chapter 12, Paul states that he ‘will come to visions and revelations of the Lord.’

Further down, he mentions the abundance of revelations he gets.

No pain, no gain?

I hate suffering, but for myself, I’ve found that unexpected breakthroughs often come after I’ve been goin’ through something. And, I repeat, I hate suffering… NEVER gonna want it…not gonna happen. But it doesn’t always seem to be a waste.

Getting back to Moses…”And the LORD spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend..” Wow.

ooo

I read somewhere that the downward growth of a root can be compared to ‘negative’circumstances. The fact that a root does grow down, not up, represents hardship or difficulty of some sort. At least, at times. Just as the root is necessary to the eventual appearance of the tree, flower, fruit etc., so are some of the more unpleasant aspects of life to the yielding of victories and good things. And as you know, the deeper the root, the more likely it is to reach the precious water further down inside the earth, when drought comes. So….following this comparison, some of the prolonged or repeated frustrations of our lives may actually one day turn out to be a saving grace. Rather than breaking you (though it may feel like you’re being broken, beat down and beat up!)), your frustrations may indeed be producing valuable staying power.

I do thank you for stopping by….
Christina

10 responses to “Redeeming Frustration

  1. It took me a long time to realize that God is actually doing everything for my good. I even thank Him for all the sufferings and pain I have endured before because I would not be the person I am today. I thank Him so much because I see more clearly His glory and power in me. Thanks for this post.

  2. “…My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” 2nd Cor. 12:9

  3. What a beautiful post!!! I LOVE this whole principle and truth. I guess because for me it has been true of my life!I was just telling someone the other day that it hasn’t been the easy times of my life that I’ve REALLY grown. NO. It’s been the really painful and challenging times that have forged my character and changed my life down to my core. I love that! And am grateful that I was given those lessons. I so loved this line: “I hate suffering, but for myself, I’ve found that unexpected breakthroughs often come after I’ve been goin’ through something.”Me too! Absolutely. It’s beautiful what you wrote about a “root” going into the ground, because when you think about it they are going into the dark, the unknown, around rocks and sticks and to finally reach the nourishment that they need to put forth a flower in the light above. Great analogy! You are very insightful and wise. Just beautiful!

  4. Hey, Robin! Glad you checked out my post…and that you could relate to it as much as you did. I heard something on the news (radio) a day or so back, about the rainforest…guess you know who I thought of!

  5. You’re a flowing writer, like a stream, you did get that consciousness back. The plant world will harden itself to adversity since it can’t move from its’ rooted spot. Cold weather makes plants bark tougher, drought makes them root deeper, they flower and go to seed if threatened.God hardened the hearts of Israels enemies in the OT, in order for Him to give demonstrations of how much He loved His people. They continually disobeyed, like we all do. He chastised, forgave and welcomed new love from them.Nice preaching, ma’am.

  6. “The plant world will harden itself to adversity since it can’t move from its’ rooted spot. Cold weather makes plants bark tougher, drought makes them root deeper, they flower and go to seed if threatened.”I never thought about this before, from this perspective…the idea of not being able to move…as people, if we’re stuck somewhere long enough, we ‘toughen up’, too, against adversity. Great contribution, d2, thanks, and I do think I’m getting my flow back. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

