Independence Evolving

“When in the Course of human events…”

I cannot imagine a time when the reading or hearing of these opening words to the Declaration of Independence will not profoundly thrill me. Over two centuries later, they are still pregnant with the promise of destiny. Though our destiny has been realized and the United States of America have long since “assume[d]…among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station…to which Nature’s God entitle them”, my heart beats faster, my breath catches as I read these poignant seven words. Solemn decision resonates within them. Having cast the die, there would be no turning back, and so our forefathers “pledge[d] to each other [their] Lives,…Fortunes and…sacred Honor.”

ooo

“We hold these truths to be self-evident…”

Truth is powerful. It can speak for itself, by its presence, without words, without sound. It is its own witness. Before even being listed, you know that what is coming here is True, and Right. Your spirit stands at attention, ready to embrace, ready to rejoice…! I thank God for His Faithful and True Witness.

ooo

These thoughts, and others to come, on the unparallelled document of Destiny, our Declaration of Independence, were prompted by the beginnings of my research on its author, my next post subject, Thomas Jefferson. Having learned through my previous readings of the ultimate animosity which severely separated Washington and Jefferson, I am now hungry to learn more about the third President of the United States of America. I want to see, through his eyes, how such a thing evolved. How could comrades-in-arms, so to speak, men who pledged their all to one another in the cause of freedom, the spilling of their own blood if necessary, arrive at such an ugly parting of ways?

This and other aspects of Jefferson’s life will become the next object of my hopefully revealing posts. Coming soon, we will be ‘Moving on to Thomas Jefferson’…



5 responses to “Independence Evolving

  1. The Declaration of Independence is such a powerful document! It amazes me still because people don’t write or speak like that anymore. I’m excited to read your upcoming posts about Thomas Jefferson! I’m also wondering if you’re going to write about the War of 1812 someday! 🙂

  2. Well, Rebecca, now that you've asked me, I guess I will…! Yeah, the power is definitely there. As I learn more & more, I see how brilliant, how intelligent our founding fathers were, but I believe the power captured in these almost sacred words comes from God.I was telling a friend @ work today that I was moving on from Washington to Jefferson, in my posts, & she said, "It took you long enough!" I laughed, but I think it's been about 8 months! So, we'll see but it may be another 8 months on Thomas Jefferson!

  3. The next part is incredible to me:”…that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights…”I read a book on John Adams recently, and now feel the need to read more about Jefferson. When I was in DC, I saw the Jefferson book collection at the Library of Congress. It was truly incredible.

  4. My guess is that the animosity that eventually separated Washington from Jefferson (Jefferson, at one time, was Washington's Secretary of State) was because Washington was a Christian and Jefferson was a humanist (deist). Jefferson and John Adams had different views on the French Revolution. Adams rejected the French Revolution (I am sure that Washington did, too), but Jefferson supported it. The American Revolution and the French Revolution were totally opposite of each other. The American Revolution was inspired by God; the French Revolution was very anti-God–similar to the Bolshevik Revolution of 1917.According to Scripture, the Lord puts people in power who He wants. The Lord DID use Jefferson, just like the Lord used Washington, Lincoln, Reagan and others. The United States was expanded through the Louisiana Purchase (1803?) and Lewis and Clark did their expedition during Jefferson's Presidency.I love the Lord's economy: He uses EVERYBODY (the Christians KNOW that they are being used by the Lord, and the unbelievers don't).

Leave a Reply

