Guantanamo

My mushy, emotional Obama moment is over.

This is definitely not a political discussion-type blog, and it won’t be often that I post my opinion on current events, but today I am. I don’t have a mind for political/government etc. debate, I go on my instinct. I can’t prove a point in this arena, I don’t know enough. I get headaches trying to read and learn all the necessary facts. But I’ve been reading & getting headaches for the past two days, trying to understand, to comprehend the bigger picture behind President Obama’s signing of the order to close the Guantanamo prison within a year.

This detention center houses some major terror suspects, specifically five of whom are believed to have been involved in the planning of 9/11. The order includes shutting down secret CIA prisons, world-wide, where we held suspected terrorists. And it looks like what I call ‘soft-on-torture’ legislation is being officially adopted. Extremely soft.

For two or three days before the Inauguration, I was getting this sense of dread, this sick feeling that, once sworn in, we would begin to see a different Obama than the charismatic guy who campaigned. My fear specifically was…well, something just like this.

I really need to take time to read the Constitution through, because I don’t know how, or if, the Bush administration may have violated it, broken the law. But, you know, though it may be proven that such was the case, my position is, whatever it takes to prevent another 9/11…

2 responses to “Guantanamo

  1. I found this a fascinating view point, bu tmore importantly I really related to these lines:”I don’t have a mind for political/government etc. debate, I go on my instinct. I can’t prove a point in this arena, I don’t know enough. I get headaches trying to read and learn all the necessary facts.”This could have been me talking. I laughed out loud and thought, “She is the first person I’ve heard say this. 🙂 🙂 I related to this so much and chuckled. I do think it takes a certain type of personality/mindset. I tend to be more of the intuitive, touchy, feely, emotional, creative type of person. Although if someone is talking with me about it and doens’t just hammer the facts at me I can find it quite intersting in a discussion!! Thank you for sharing!!! Hugs, Robin 🙂

Leave a Reply

