announcing, one more time…Guantanamo!

The Senate has rejected the funding requested by the Obama administration for shutting down Gitmo. Until the fate of its 240 prisoners is clearly and in detail determined, nobody, no how, is getting any money for it.

Is anyone else beginning to suspect that the Guantanamo prison may end up not being closed down?

Well, I am.

I’m so excited about that prospect that I’m almost giddy. I would probably be dancing around the room right now if I wasn’t sitting at my computer typing this post. Time will tell, of course, and there’s that whole not-counting-your-chicks-’til-the-eggs-have-hatched thing…

But –
behold the following excerpts from an article in today’s Washington Post

“he {FBI Director Robert S. Mueller} said he was generally concerned that released detainees could “support” terrorism, provide financing, radicalize others or even participate in attacks in the United States.”

– “Democrats under no circumstances will move forward without a comprehensive, responsible plan from the president.” He added, “We will never allow terrorists to be released into the United States.” (Senate Majority leader Harry Reid-D)

– “But their {Senate Democrats hoping to get at least part of Obama’s $80 million request to close Gitmo} resolve crumbled in the face of a concerted Republican campaign warning of dire consequences if some detainees ended up in prisons or other facilities in the United States, a possibility that Defense Secretary Robert M. Gates has acknowledged.

– “Republicans said they will continue to press for even tougher language aimed at forcing the military to keep the Guantanamo site in operation.

– “The bottom line is, there are things down there {Guantanamo} that we can’t replicate anywhere else,” said Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.) …Keeping the facility open and operating within U.S. legal norms, “is by far the best option.”

– “…some {Senate Dems} are even echoing the GOP assertion that the state-of-the-art facility should remain open.



It seems that, as the actual event of releasing hard-core, America-hating terrorists/suspects moves closer, people are getting nervous. The Democrats who want to close Gitmo are getting nervous. NOBODY wants these detainees in this country. Who in their right mind would? They are dangerous. Whether people are for or against the Afghan-Iraqi war, for or against torture, for or against Obama or Bush, I think it’s a pretty safe bet to repeat: NOBODY wants anyone with even the scent of terrorism clinging to them, in a prison in this country, or released and roaming free in this country. It is incredibly, incredibly, and I repeat for the third time incredibly stupid to release these detainees into this country. “We, the people” do not want them here.

Reading this piece in the Post, I had this ludicrous impression of the big, bad Wolf (actually, the Republicans) huffing & puffing & blowing the House down! (Dems trying to close Gitmo). Me having mental images of a political caricature is in and of itself…well, a first! But that’s how it looks to me…

6 responses to “announcing, one more time…Guantanamo!

  1. Running the country is not nearly as easy as the previous 43 presidents made it look, eh Barry?And as was obvious to the less-smitten amongst us, the pollyana gobbledygook he laid on the left to get himself elected was never going to work in reality- a fact that the calculating opportunist Obama likely knew full-well back when he was promising them the moon and the stars.He’ll use you, if you let him… that’s how narcissists are.http://reaganiterepublicanresistance.blogspot.com

  2. [SOURCE]LIE TO ME: I can’t handle the TRUTH![ … ] Tired of hearing the grim truth about their economic future, Americans demanded that the bald-faced lies resume immediately, particularly whenever politicians feel the need to divulge another terrifying problem with Wall Street, the housing market, or any one of a hundred other ticking time bombs everyone was better off not knowing about.[ … ]In addition, citizens are requesting that the phrase, “It will only get worse before it gets better,” be permanently replaced with, “Things are going great. Enjoy yourselves.”[ … ]”From now on, just tell me the bullshit I want to hear,” Pletcher added. “Tell me my savings are okay, everybody has a job, and we’re No. 1 again. Please, just lie to my face.”In other News this hour: “In attempt to Jump-start Economy; Obama Declares Tuesday’s Ladies Night…”[retrieved by PD for your Lady Grace]

  3. This article is priceless, MooP_W!Funny thing, I see it’s from the Onion, and as it turns out, recently I saw a headline about Prime Minister Netanyahu (sp?) that I wanted to read ‘later on’, but then ‘later on’ couldn’t recall where I saw it…now I remember – the Onion! So thanks for that!

  4. My Pleeeazure, wizened One –As usual, Urs, MooP[e]W to the Rescue… Apparently Gitmo is a case for deniability… what ever that means… which is not desirably dependability… nor even in the dictionary as decidability… even though Dubya started the whole thing at Guantanamo in a fit of Cheney-ism cronyism, [old reliability himself] …Where was I?Oh yes, I still think that Dubya and Cheney have somehow changed the codex of time. In other words their actions were so alien to regular tactics preceding in history… , well we should, might, have called their regime: “Area 52: the Aliens have relocated.”It’s times like these that I wish I had that Bible Code jumbo puzzle figured out, [also called: Theomatics (Lucas) at one time]…Then I could look up some of the rudiments of prose, and journalism we hang onto so dearly here in our trenches of iniquity, and love of logging. How is this Lexicon-ism going to work itself out in a sort of Jeffersonian draft in the near future?On another note: Italy called today, Marinell’s brother, Guillermo, and read us the riot act for seeming to abandon him and family for a long time… we haven’t stayed in touch like we planned\promised. Why is that important??? Because I do not know the language, do not speak nor write Italian… otherwise: I could rant in their direction.I Blog to Differ;No don’t sic Yosemite Sam on me: I back down. PD[note: Google translators are not worth the energy they need to draft translations from English to Italian]

  5. …so, when you say ‘the codex of time’ I assume you really meant the Timex of code, right?And speaking of ‘Bible Code jumbo puzzle’, that reminds me – and this in no way relates – have you ever seen one of those Bible/world history timeline chart/maps? Awesome is the word, and getting one is on my short list! Well, re/your lack of Italian-ship-I myself am trying to learn a little French, one of my blogger friends lives in Paris. For awhile I did that Google translation thing, on my Blogger blog but then I didn’t understand anything! So I switched back to my native language! Still, I might check into other methods of learning a bit more…at some point…during the Timex of code. when the moon is in the 7th House…

  6. Well, just so it’z not your Bucket List, there Cowgurl… That’ll do fine.”…learn a little French…” ? Hmmmm. Should I have a reply to that one? Nope.Urs,TOC *[Timex of Code]* Takes a Lickin’: Keeps on Tickin’

Leave a Reply

