Independence Day, 2009….by His grace!

“…My soul doth magnify the Lord, and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour.” (Luke 1: 46,47, KJV)

As Americans across the nation, from purple mountains’ majesty to the congested streets of New York City, celebrate the Fourth of July, as indeed peoples from countries worldwide know of this our great commemoration of freedom, I find myself moved by this freedom as never before in my life.


How precious is our liberty.


How can that which is purchased by blood be anything less? What can compare to freedom?

How great our God, He who designed this plan and He who also brought it to pass. He, the firstfruits, and now we, the favored ones who daily partake of that which has been provided for us. It is true, we yet fight for freedom on foreign soil. But we did not have to fight in that unprecedented American revolution that necessitated the drafting and signing of our Declaration of Independence on this day, two hundred and thirty-three years ago. We, my friends, are the heirs to Liberty! We have been born with that silver spoon in our mouths!

Are we worthy? Only because He has so declared it. More and more, I marvel, why did God place me in the great United States of America? Who am I, or, as King David so eloquently wrote in the Psalms, What is man, that Thou art mindful of him? It is essentially the same question I ask. My only answer dwells in God’s sovereignty, and His Word. He hath done, and He hath said, Amen.

“..this ball of liberty…will roll around the globe…for light and liberty go together. It is our glory that we first put it into motion.” ( Thomas Jefferson, June 1795 )


God bless America.


My fellow Americans, may your Independence Day be a favored one.
Leave a Reply

