A Living Vision


Earlier today, I was checking out the Department of Justice’s ‘snappy new Web site’ (according to Washington Post columnist Al Kamen) — Justice.gov. Not too long ago, I visited the White House website, and awhile back, I had reason to look into Congressman Andrews homepage. In each case, to my surprise & delight, I found a riveting interest commanding my attention. I say, ‘surprise & delight’ because it wasn’t that long ago that I would’ve had to put out some serious effort to absorb anything on any of those pages! The information contained on them would’ve seemed distant, dry and unrelated.

But, for me, it’s different now.

The timelessness of the Revolutionary spirit, the passion of our Founders’ vision has gripped me. Though I am sure it is barely a glimpse, it is enough to change everything.
Having been far more than touched by the selflessness and nobility of our first commanding General and President, George Washington, I remain today and forever in awe of him and that for which he fought and sacrificed. Having been beyond delighted and intrigued by the scintillating mind and personality of the author of our Declaration of Independence, Thomas Jefferson, I am indelibly marked with his imprint. And having found that for which I did not even know I was looking, for the second time in my life it can be said that, as the Scripture records, “…I am found of them that sought me not…” (Isaiah 65:1 KJV)

And because of these things, when I see the heading ‘The United States Department of Justice’, or an official Congressional heading, on a website homepage, they come alive. A living dynamic and a continuous, ongoing process shows itself, and through it the heart of our Founding Fathers and all the first Patriots yet beats, strong and true. I see the vision through their eyes, and it remains untarnished.

ooo


4 responses to “A Living Vision

  1. Thanks for sharing that. We owe so much to our Founding Fathers, and not only to those whose names we know so well, but also to those who worked behind the scenes. I feel we also owe it them to pass down this heritage to our children, something we're not doing so well at.

  2. What changed;What skill bloomed;Where did time go;Before I knew?Yet you say: It is different now for you;What iron sharpened Iron in you that way?What desert flowerAppeared from dry dust;Who reckoned powerWhere once was rust?For when you say:"… having found that for whichI did not even knowI was looking,…"You found sense …and…jurisprudence and fate;Whereby grace one day may completeDreams dreamt by Founders who awakeIn a splendid place, where,For a second time their hearts beat

  3. Good point, Rebecca.I don't know if this kind of experience can be passed down to the majority. I think it's like a gift, given when the time is right. We were talking about this very thing @ work the other day, & most of us had not been interested in American history when we were youngerBut hopefully I'm wrong, and people with the passion & the ability to stir up our younger generations will be raised up in these times, to spark a fire & fan that flame.

Leave a Reply

