Jefferson…Freedom…They’re in my Blood

In the course of preparations for a future Bill of Rights -related post, I’ve returned to some of my George Washington/ Thomas Jefferson books & notes, and have been re-reading, or reading for the first time, relevant sections. And of course, there is no way that I can be dabbling my ‘toes’ in those waters & not want to dive right back in! Earlier this evening, sitting at the table with pen in hand & markers nearby, I was reading a chapter in ‘Thomas Jefferson: America’s Philosopher-King’, about Jefferson’s years in Europe. I found myself smiling. Not only was I smiling, I realized that I had this smitten, almost falling-in-love kind of feeling! How happy am I! I ask you, how could anyone not become enamoured with this man? Let me borrow a couple of phrases from this chapter, to make my point. According to the author Max Lerner, Jefferson was “…a kind of radar-perceiver of the tremors and rumblings in the world around him…with a pen sharp enough to impale them for the centuries in unforgettable phrases.” Wow. May there never be a time in my life when I am not awed by the greatness of our Founders, and even more so by the richness of the immeasurable treasures imparted to them by the Creator.

lll
So, I find myself, once again, at Jefferson’s doorstep. May I say, I am very glad to be here.

But it isn’t just about the author of the Declaration of Independence that I write at this time. Sorting through a collage of ideas & impressions, I’m still feeling my way, not sure exactly what I want to say. I become more sure every day that the only way to reclaim the American dream is by a return to Constitutional principles, for those who have left them behind. Our leaders & our educators need to look to our Founding Father, the Founding Father who led our first army into battle, George Washington, and re-learn the beliefs he held forth, about & for America. We need to return to first principles.

lll
We know it has been said that the price of freedom is eternal vigilance. As vigilance is required at our borders & in our ports, so is it required in our minds & in our thinking as well. We who call on the name of Jesus know that our adversary the devil ‘prowleth about’, seeking whom he may devour, and I have to assume this same devil devours, besides lives & souls, truth in thinking also. Wrong conclusions are drawn, and the course of history changes for the worse.

Yesterday I read this poignant, powerful article – “The American Dream: Why the Tyrants Can Never Win” . It’s power is in it’s truth. The author points out the connection between freedom and laziness. Specifically, freedom is hard-won, and yielding to lazy dependency on a ‘nanny-state’ is ‘the essence of captivity and tyranny’. I extrapolate this formula to include any dependencies, void of one’s own efforts to achieve & survive. Know for a certainty that these supposed solutions to your needs will, one way or another, enslave.

Sometimes, I think my life is hard, and I will confess that I sometimes find myself thinking along the lines of, why, God? You know the drill – you believe in Him, you try to do the right thing, you seek to aid in ushering in His way and His kingdom, etc., etc. – or, maybe you don’t, but still, your life isn’t coming together, it’s too difficult. Why, God? In reading this article today, for myself, I think I’ve found at least part of my answer. I’ve been fighting to hold onto freedom, the right to choose, to follow my heart. No doubt, freedom has her price.
The article is brief, please read it. I hope it touches you the way it has reached into my heart.
3 responses to “Jefferson…Freedom…They’re in my Blood

  1. Freedom does have it's price. May we all do what we can to protect it. I would much rather struggle than have the government take over the responsibility for my life.

  2. @"…Sorting through a collage of ideas & impressions, I'm still feeling my way, not sure exactly what I want to say…."– AND — @" … It's power is in it's truth. The author points out the connection between freedom and laziness. Specifically, freedom is hard-won, and yielding to lazy dependency on a 'nanny-state' is 'the essence of captivity and tyranny'. I extrapolate this formula to include any dependencies, void of one's own efforts to achieve & survive. Know for a certainty that these supposed solutions to your needs will, one way or another, enslave. …"Your enviably modest writing without being self-deprecating… that is the spirit of Freedom.Is there a law against Freedom? Can it be contained? If so, those rules are a codex of lascivious men in a closed room.

Leave a Reply

