…1776 yet Continues in my Heart…

“…those who study…the American Revolution and the years immediately  following it cannot escape the conclusion that this was…one of the great periods of history in which to be alive.”   (Robert G. Athearn, A New Nation, American Heritage Illustrated History of the United States, Volume 4)

We live our lives day-to-day, so many similar details & routines swallowing up those days.  This is the nature of things.  Pretty much unavoidable for many of us.  For me, these details & routines play out in the United States of America, the land first set aside for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Considering this, it seems that my experiences here should be much more vividly colored!  They should be pulsing, thrilling, and rivetingly focused.

Well, much of the time, they are not.

Splotched  on top of what they are not,  frequently enough to weigh me down, are  forays into things Islamic and Middle Eastern.  I am led down the paths of the knowledge of jihad, sharia law, homeland security, and counter-terrorism.  Because of these things, I have also felt the weight of the glory of profound honor for our troops.  Because of these things, every day, more & more I deeply respect and highly value all those who serve in our covert operations, our surveillance and our intelligence missions.  

I can live the life that I do, the way that I do it, because these men & women, these soldiers & patriots, serve, defend & protect the American homeland and the American way.  They make it possible.  Because they make it possible, the environment necessary for freedom to flourish and be maintained yet continues.  In that environment may yet continue debates over Constitutionality, national and political challenges, government scandals…protests, strikes & sit-ins…the good, the bad & the ugly can continue to come and go in these United  States of America.  And if you have the eyes and heart to see it, amidst & throughout it all, is the spirit of the men & women who started this ball rolling over 235 years ago.

~~~~~~

Let’s take Congress, for instance…

If you’ve heard it once, you’ve heard it a million times – the American people complaining about their elected representatives in the House & Senate.  I am not saying the complaints are without good reason – I’m just saying, complaints frequently abound!

Well, so it was in 1783.

Of course, the scenario at that time was quite different from today’s.  The United States of America was barely just born.  Can you even imagine it?!!  On the verge of a final peace treaty with her former monarch, a fully free and independent new nation, burgeoning with magnificence, her potential boundless.  Where, oh where to begin?  Most fortunately for America, “Never has a young nation been so richly endowed with vigorous leaders” because  she “…had need of all the brilliance that the Founding Fathers could bring to bear…” (Athearn)   That potential, boundless though it was, was fraught with risk.  How does one harness freedom?  Yet without some sort of guiding rein…some form of structure…anarchy, chaos and destruction could be lying in wait in a rocky, uncharted future. 

At this time, the United States had the least government of any country in the civilized world.  A far cry from Washington, D.C today, isn’t it?  All over the Internet, I see cries for less government.  People hate Washington.  Many are the times I’ve read/heard the general sentiment, ‘Let’s fire ’em all, elect a whole new Congress’.  Turns out the Congress of post-Revolution days wasn’t all that popular either.  For different reasons, perhaps, but  I think it bears pointing out that Congress was “abused, laughed at, and cursed in every company”. (Athearn)  Congress was so abused, in fact, that in the summer of 1783, they literally fled for their very safety, from Philadelphia to Princeton, New Jersey. They had to escape  across the river!

Elias Boudinot

Aggravated to the point of mutinous revolt, Philadelphia & Lancaster troops surrounded Congress Assembled at Independence Hall, demanding back pay for their military service. Both the Congress and its President, Elias Boudinot, were held hostage there until they somehow managed to slip away and seek the protection of the New Jersey militia. 

…sooo…irate, disgruntled citizens of the United States of America, thronging the streets of Philadelphia, protesting economic conditions & demanding satisfaction…bearing arms, no less!…sounds like America to me!  The way it is, the way it was and the way it was intended to be. 

~~~~~~

Sadly – yet almost with a twist of wry humor – not only were citizens disgusted with Congress, it sounds like even Congress was disgusted with itself.  There was a six month period, through 1785 into 1786, during which there were only three days “when enough members were present to conduct business.”  This kind of discontent & frustration reminds me of  the mood often prevalent at my place of employment – many of us, if we did not need the money, would just throw in the towel.  One scenario government, the other civilian, centuries apart yet with a familiar ring  –  America then, America now. 

~~~~~~

Independence Hall

…lest I should be remiss and overlook an opportunity to encourage, let me point out here that because of the conditions & circumstances producing the above events, and others soon to follow, a Philadelphia convention was eventually called, seeking remedies.  That convention resulted in the unparalleled Constitution of the United States of America.
~~~~~~

 

 

6 responses to “…1776 yet Continues in my Heart…

  1. There is no doubt that what happened during the American Revolutionary War and the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia has changed the world for the better. The Light of Judaeo-Christianity is what has turned the world upside down for liberty. The Holy Ghost is what inspires men to be free. We are still seeing the ripple effects of the American Revolution today.

    Here are some posts you may want to read:

    “John Milton: Writer and Revolutionary”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/10/john-milton-writer-and-revolutionary.html

    “Quotes from Thomas Jefferson”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/05/quotes-from-thomas-jefferson.html

    “The American Revolution: Was it an act of Biblical Rebellion?”
    http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissuesArticles.asp?id=24548

    • I’ve seen that idea about the Revolutionary War being rebellion against God before, but never read up on it. Although I myself used to wonder about the concept of inalienable rights…and natural law…wasn’t so sure they aligned with what I believed the Scriptures explained. Along the way, as I’ve read & learned more, I’m not having that problem anymore.

    • As I type this, I am holding in my hand the September 2011 issue of Smithsonian magazine, opened to “The Struggle within Islam”…I think I excerpted something from it already, in one of my posts. I keep the magazine opened to this article all the time. It will be source material for one of topics I’ve been pursuing/researching along these lines, on which I intend to elaborate in a future post. It takes time to pull it together, but it’s on the way…

      …so thanks for the link, but I’m way ahead of ya on this one!

      So I’m in the Top 10, huh? That is certainly gratifying!

  2. It never ceases to amaze me how some posts on my blog won’t get many pageviews while other posts get tons of pageviews. I can’t force people to read my blog, so it must be the hand of God that inspires people to read certain posts.

    The world is looking at Egypt and what is going to happen there in the next months and years. I believe the Lord is doing a powerful work in Egypt–and it is not going to happen overnight. Reno, Nevada wasn’t built in a day. The American Revolution took several years (1775-1783). God is gradual.

    • What amazes me is how, ‘out of nowhere’ I became so strongly interested in the Middle East situations, maybe about 2 years ago. I just was suddenly very, very drawn to the war in Afghanistan, right around the time that General McChrystal took charge. And it just has not eased up. Between the wealth of written works on our Revolutionary War, the abundance of books & articles on Islam, our government/economics etc., and today’s journalistic/media coverage…I feast on all these things. The Spirit of God weaves through them all, for me, and weaves together vision as well.

Leave a Reply

