Things can Change in a Heartbeat: Give Jesus a Chance

 

Well, Christmas 2016 is over.

My holiday took an extremely unexpected – shall we say ‘turn’ – when I stepped outside onto the 2nd. floor landing of my apartment stairs. What I didn’t realize: how slippery it was.

Things happen fast.

My left foot shot our from under me like greased lightning.

How quickly – in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye – we can lose control. And there is nothing you can do about it. Even if there was, the whole thing is over before you even have time to do it anyway.

Oddly calm, I remember knowing that this was it, I was either about to die from tumbling headlong down the stairs, or sustain severely broken bones, maybe my back. Like that, it can be over.

~~~

Well, it wasn’t.

~~~

I don’t think that I was ‘lucky’. I think that either Jesus Himself, or an angel sent as a ministering spirit guided my fall or actually set me down, in a seated, upright position with the door sill right up against my lower back area.  I was not aware of any jolting impact. I noticed I was in no pain. Check. Nothing seemed broken. Check. Or bleeding. Check.

For He shall give His angels charge over thee…they shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.”  (Psalm 91: 11, 12)

Wow.

~~~

I had been carrying a box full of Christmas presents, which barely spilled out. They were okay, too…

I had not even had time to panic before it was over & I realized I was basically unharmed. After a minute, I carefully raised myself up, looking around and beginning to notice that the toe of my left foot was hurting. That got alot worse as the day wore on, witangels-charge_2h swelling & bruising, but apart from that and the onset of shock & nausea etc., at this moment I seem  relatively unscathed.  Some may say, Well, you still fell down & you did actually hurt your foot, so….what’s your point?  My point is that it could’ve been so much worse.

~~~

 

I imagine as the days go by, I will experience a continuing aftermath of realizations. Today, though, mainly I keep recalling my ‘flying through the air’ moment, no contact with the ground or handrail or anything…but Jesus. I know this is hindsight, maybe I’m wrong, but in that moment I think I sensed I was being somehow ‘held’. I just didn’t have time to consciously process it, so initially  I assumed the worst .

~~~

…so my Christmas Day was delayed for a while, I ended up on my sofa with ice on my foot. When I finally made it to the family gathering…well, the starch was knocked out of me, sooo….but I find that without all the usual hullaballoo – and nothing wrong with that! – I seem to be seeing spiritual reality with a wonderful focus and clarity. Today, I think my ‘eye is single’. (That’s not always the case!)

“Therefore when thine eye is single, thy whole body also is full of light.”  (Luke 11:34)

Over the years, so many times at Christmas I’ve heard those cliché statements about Jesus that I knew should’ve resonated with me but did not. I was doing my Christmas thing, ya know? But today – today I get it. There is nothing more important than knowing Jesus. The real Jesus. He is so unbelievably integral to all things that it behooves any one of us to give Him a chance.  Every day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

