Are You Waiting for God’s Axe to Fall?

Are you sure, as a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ, that He will always come through for you? Are you SURE?

I know that you know at least some of the pertinent Bible verses that tell us we will be provided for, in the now as well as in the hereafter…but do you really feel completely secure in this? Are there not at least a few occasional doubts…that wiggle around in the back of your mind like the nasty little evil worms that they are! And then grab every possible bit of opportunity to grow into gobs & blobs of worry, anxiety, & fear?

~~~

I used to speak frequently with a very interesting brother in the Lord, who had attended seminary, pastored, held house meetings & ministered at a teen mission center. He started his own janitorial supply business, was married & had (at the time) 2 children. He cast out devils. (He cast something out of me.) In fact, this brother told me that, for about a year, he had walked in the knowledge of being as God. Now, I know of no one else who has had that experience – and I would think that, anyone who has had it, would not have any problems at all trusting God. Yet, my friend had lived under the constant fear of not believing God would come through for him.

I couldn’t comprehend that inability. This brother seemed so…well, advanced…in the things of the Lord. And at that time, I was fairly sure of God’s ‘coming through’ for me, and I was nowhere near as knowledgeable in such matters, as this man was.

Now, knowing more & having walked decades with Jesus (through both valleys & atop mountains!), I too am ofttimes much less certain. Yet I constantly see His touch & provision, in the smallest details to the larger issues. As recently as today, I have been delivered from the hand of him who was too strong for me. (Concerning one of those larger issues!) Even so, I suspect that the next time I’m suffering, or anxious…He will leave me to my own devices. Which causes more suffering…

So I thought that I might lay out some Scriptures to counter-act this kind of doubt. I want to halt that train of thought in its tracks.

~~~

There is absolute assurance. It is found in covenant, and only in covenant.

~~~

“It will be an everlasting covenant.” (Ezekiel 37:26)

“I…will set My sanctuary in their midst forever…” (v.26)

“My dwelling place also will be with them” (v.27)

“You (Jesus) are a Priest forever, according to the order of Melchizedek” (Hebrews 7:17)

I suspect that, when you’re struggling before a pile of bills that you can’t pay, and maybe your kids are sick and it was a rough day at the job, Melchizedek is not the first thing on your mind! You’re getting a headache and it’s all just too much at the moment…talk of covenants & priesthoods & kings, really, aren’t even in your rearview mirror.

But they need to be.

Melchizedek

~~~

 

Those things which we cannot be guaranteed that we can accomplish for ourselves, or for those we love & who need us, are prime causes of worry & anxiety. The list could go on & on, right? What great comfort would there be in some kind of guarantee outside of our own attempts!

“Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant.” (Hebrews 7:22)

~~~

In the message ‘Our New Covenant of Grace’, Rev. Wayne Monbleau states that “God did for us what we could never do for ourselves. That’s grace…”(https://youtu.be/lmZYJ18d_tw @2:40) 

You really need to let that sink in.

~~~

This is our starting point.

I think that before we can experience complete rest in God’s Abba Father nature, and His caring for us in all things, we first must arrive at that watershed moment when we accept that we cannot. Period. I know this sounds contradictory, but before we begin doing what we can do, in any realm, we first must acknowledge that we cannot.

~~~

WHEN we accept this, and turn to the One provided for us, Jesus the Son of God…

WHEN we understand that every answer lies in Him…(because the lasting answers do not lie in us)…

THEN everything pertaining to Him becomes important. And we realize that we are not wasting time learning about ancient Bible history or seemingly irrelevant details & instructions, thinking we should instead be stressing out over financial shortages & running ourselves ragged working overtime…

WHEN we understand that lasting security will not come through stressing out & running ragged, I think it is much easier to exhale and begin to become more fully engaged in learning about your New Covenant of grace.

~~~

What I’m finding to be an unexpected comfort, is the continuity of covenant. It has always been available. (John 1:29 + Rev.13:8) It is not going away.

I used to perceive the different covenants of God as being in two separate categories, Old & New. My thinking was, the New Covenant is what’s happenin’, baby! The Old, not so much – it foreshadowed the New, of course, but other than that….it’s history…and I also used to be a little conflicted over my own perspectives here because the very Scripture itself tells me that the Word of God endures forever, so…how could any of that Word be just ‘history’? How could it not be potent & alive?

I understand now that the promises made by God in His ‘old’ covenants with Israel, Abraham, Levi & King David are in fact fulfilled in Jesus Christ through the New Covenant. They are all in one. There is no separateness in Him. I did not realize how desperately I needed to see this…until I saw it.

~~~

“Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine Hand upon me.”

(Psalm 139:5)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

